Concerts in general

Apply for a licence

Apply here for a licence to use music at concerts

When you organise a concert, you have to obtain a licence for the authors’ rights (composer, lyricist, and publisher’s rights) in the music performed and for the relevant neighbouring rights (artist and producer’s rights).

Licences

The concert tariff - Common Tariff (CT K): As a rule, the licence fee is set as a percentage of your ticket revenues. In certain cases, the fee may be calculated based on the costs connected with the use of the music (artists’ fees, travel and accommodation costs, rental of venues, instruments, and the PA system).

The percentage cannot exceed 10% of the ticket revenues or costs. The rate is lower if SUISA does not manage the rights to all the works performed – provided you deliver a complete list of works (set list) in good time. For more information see the Fact Sheet and the Tariff.


If you play commercially available sound recordings (CDs, MP3s, streaming, etc.), we will charge you an additional fee on behalf of SWISSPERFORM for the rights of the performing artists and producers (neighbouring rights).

Reduction for contract customers and members of trade associations

Contract customers and members of trade associations are entitled to a reduction of at least 10%. 

The trade associations recognised by SUISA include SMPA, Petzi, SDJ, t. Theaterschaffen Schweiz

Contract customers undertake to duly report all their concerts to us in good time and to furnish all relevant information and set lists. 

Do I have to furnish the list of performed works to SUISA?

Yes. SUISA needs the list for the proper calculation of the fees and their distribution to the rightholders. Please send the list of the musical works performed no later than ten days after the performance.

How to proceed:

Send us the duly completed questionnaire together with your list of works. We will then issue the licence and invoice. Once your payment is received, we distribute the remuneration to the beneficiary composers, lyricists, and publishers.

The following might also be of interest to you:

  • Decisions of the Arbitration Commission on the Common Tariff K

    Blog 2024-02-20: During the oral hearing on 23 January 2024, the Federal Arbitration Commission for Copyrights and Neighbouring Rights dealt with the disputed submission by SUISA and Swissperform for a new Common Tariff K. The arbitration committee has extended the current tariff until the end of 2024 and announced the key points for the new concert tariff from 2025.

  • Renegotiating the concert tariff: back to basics

    Blog: 2022-12-06: Of all the tariffs that SUISA is currently negotiating, Common Tariff K occupies a special place. Because it regulates concerts, this tariff is of vital importance for the authors and publishers whose works are performed on stage. In this article, we take stock of the ongoing negotiations

  • If bands and event promoters organise a concert together

    Blog 2015-03-11: The event organiser of a concert has to pay the copyright licence fee. How does it affect the legal situation, if musicians and organisers jointly run the performance by way of a cooperation?

FAQ: Frequently asked questions

  • If you wish to perform protected music (or have it performed) in public, you must apply to SUISA for authorisation.

    All forms are available at this link.

    The forms should be completed and filed with SUISA no later than ten days after the concert. To calculate the royalties properly, SUISA needs to have a detailed list of the works performed, and a copy of your income and expenditures statement.

  • As a general rule, remuneration is charged under Common Tariff K if the public comes on purpose to listen to music. Therefore, shows, ballets and theatre performances, for example, can also be subject to CT K. 

    When music is played in the context of a dance or entertainment event, Common Tariff Hb, the tariff for dances and entertainment, will apply. CT Hb is applicable even if the concert or concert-like performance lasts less than one hour.

    The decision to apply CT K or CT Hb cannot depend solely on the popularity of the performing artists, since popularity (and an artist's attraction) evolves much too quickly.  In setting its rates, SUISA has to take other criteria into account, such as ticket prices, (concert) venue, type of advertising and other expenditure items.

    If you are at doubt when preparing your budget, it is worthwhile consulting SUISA's customer services to find out which tariff is applicable.

    For more about CT K

    For more about CT Hb
     

  • No. Royalties for concerts are calculated as a percentage of concert revenues or of the costs of music use. The financial situation of each event is thus equitably taken into account. But it is also possible to conclude an annual contract with SUISA and pay the agreed instalments for the whole year. In exchange, SUISA will grant you a licence for all your events during the year. If you are interested, please contact our customer services. 

  • SUISA normally calculates the remuneration based on a concert's revenues. In the following cases, however, the cost of the music use serves as the calculation basis:

    • if the revenues cannot be established;
    • if the costs are higher than the revenues and the customer has not prepared a budget, or if the customer assumes from the outset that the costs will have to be fully or partially covered by his own funds;
    • charity events where the profit goes to the needy.

Lizenz beantragen 

Beantragen Sie hier die Lizenz zur Nutzung von Musik bei Konzerten.

Wenn Sie ein Konzert organisieren, müssen Sie für die Urheberrechte an der aufgeführten Musik (Rechte der Komponisten, Texter und Verleger) und für die verwandten Schutzrechte (Rechte der Interpreten und Produzenten) eine Lizenz erwerben.

Lizenzen 

Konzerttarif - Gemeinsamer Tarif K (GT K): Der Preis für die Lizenz ist in der Regel ein Prozentsatz Ihrer Ticketeinnahmen. In gewissen Fällen wird die Vergütung auch gestützt auf die Kosten für die Musikverwendung berechnet  (Künstlergagen, Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten, Lokalmiete, Instrumentenmiete und Miete für das PA-System).

Der Prozentsatz beträgt höchstens 10% der Ticketeinnahmen oder der Kosten. Er reduziert sich, wenn die SUISA nicht an allen aufgeführten Werken die Rechte verwaltet – und wenn Sie fristgerecht eine vollständige Werkliste (Setlist) einreichen. Näheres dazu finden Sie weiter unten im Merkblatt und im Tarif.

Spielen Sie im Handel erhältliche Aufnahmen ab (CDs, MP3s, Streaming usw.), lizenzieren wir zudem im Auftrag der SWISSPERFORM die Rechte der Interpreten und Produzenten (verwandte Schutzrechte).

Rabatte für Vertragskunden und Verbandsmitglieder

Als Verbandsmitglied und Vertragspartner der SUISA profitieren Sie von einem attraktiven Rabatt von mindestens 10%.

Von uns anerkannte Branchenverbände sind unter anderem SMPA, Petzi, SDJ, t. Theaterschaffen Schweiz

Als Vertragspartner verpflichten Sie sich, uns sämtliche Konzerte zeitgerecht zu melden und uns die jeweiligen Angaben und Setlists zuzustellen.

Muss ich der SUISA Verzeichnisse der aufgeführten Musik abliefern?

Ja, diese sind notwendig, damit wir die Entschädigungen korrekt berechnen und an die Rechteinhaber verteilen können. Reichen Sie das Verzeichnis der aufgeführten Musikwerke bitte spätestens 10 Tage nach dem Auftritt ein.

So gehen Sie vor

Wir bitten Sie, das vollständig ausgefüllte Formular sowie die Werkliste an uns zu senden. Anschliessend erhalten Sie von uns eine Lizenz sowie die Rechnung. Nach Erhalt Ihrer Zahlung verteilen wir das Geld an die berechtigten Komponisten/innen, Texter/innen und Verlage.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren:

  • Entscheide der Schiedskommission zum Gemeinsamen Tarif K

    Blog 20.20.2024: Im Rahmen der mündlichen Verhandlung vom 23. Januar 2024 hat die Eidgenössische Schiedskommission für die Verwertung von Urheberrechten und verwandten Schutzrechten die strittige Eingabe der SUISA und Swissperform für einen neuen Gemeinsamen Tarif K (Konzerte) behandelt. Dabei hat die ESchK den aktuellen Tarif bis Ende 2024 verlängert...

  • Neuverhandlung des Konzerttarifs: Rückkehr zu den Grundsätzen

    Blog, 06.12.2022: Unter den Tarifverhandlungen, die die SUISA derzeit führt, nehmen jene über den Gemeinsamen Tarif K einen besonderen Platz ein. Der Konzerttarif ist daher für Urheber/innen und Verleger/innen, deren Werke auf der Bühne aufgeführt werden, von grosser Bedeutung. 

  • Wenn Band und Veranstalter ein Konzert gemeinsam organisieren

    Blog_11.03.2015: Die Urheberrechtsentschädigung für ein Konzert muss vom Veranstalter bezahlt werden. Wie ist die rechtliche Situation, wenn Musiker und Veranstalter den Anlass in einer Form der Kooperation gemeinsam durchführen?

Häufig gestellte Fragen und Antworten

  • Wenn Sie urheberrechtlich geschützte Musik öffentlich aufführen (lassen) wollen, müssen Sie dafür die Erlaubnis der SUISA einholen.

    Alle Formulare erhalten Sie hier

    Die Formulare müssen Sie spätestens zehn Tage nach dem Konzert ausgefüllt an die SUISA senden. Um die Urheberrechtsentschädigungen korrekt berechnen und verteilen zu können, benötigt die SUISA die detaillierte Liste aller aufgeführten Werke sowie die Abrechnung mit Einnahmen und Ausgaben.

  • Nach GT K wird die Entschädigung grundsätzlich berechnet, wenn die Besucher kommen, um bewusst Musik zu hören. So können beispielsweise auch Shows, Ballett- und Theateraufführungen unter den Tarif fallen. 

    Wenn Musik im Rahmen von Tanz- und Unterhaltungsanlässen aufgeführt wird, so kommt  der Tarif für Tanz und Unterhaltung (GT Hb) zur Anwendung. Auch wenn Konzerte oder  konzertähnliche Darbietungen in ihrer Gesamtdauer weniger als eine Stunde dauern, wird der GT Hb angewendet.

    Die Abrechnung nach GT K oder GT Hb kann jedoch nicht einzig nach auftretenden Interpreten unterteilt werden, weil ihre Popularität (und damit ihre Anziehungskraft) sich immer schneller ändert. Für die Abgrenzung berücksichtigt die SUISA unter anderem Kriterien wie den Eintrittspreis, das (Konzert-)Lokal, die Art der Ankündigung oder andere Aufwandposten.

    Im Zweifelsfalle lohnt es sich für die Budgetierung, beim Kundendienst der SUISA anzufragen, unter welchen Tarif eine Veranstaltung fallen wird.

    Mehr Infos zu GT K

    Mehr Infos zum GT Hb

  • Nein. Die Entschädigung wird für jedes Konzert als Prozentsatz der Einnahmen oder Kosten der Musikverwendung berechnet, um den finanziellen Rahmen jedes Mal angemessen berücksichtigen zu können. Es gibt aber die Möglichkeit, mit der SUISA einen Jahresvertrag zu schliessen und vertraglich vereinbarte Akontoraten für das ganze Jahr zu zahlen. Im Gegenzug erhalten Sie von der SUISA jeweils die Bewilligung für alle Veranstaltungen für das ganze Jahr. Bei Interesse stehen Ihnen unsere Mitarbeitenden des Kundendienstes gerne zur Verfügung. 

  • Normalerweise berechnet die SUISA die Entschädigung auf der Basis der Einnahmen. In folgenden Fällen dienen jedoch die Kosten der Musikverwendung als Berechnungsgrundlage:

    • wenn die Einnahmen nicht ermittelt werden können,
    • wenn die Kosten die Einnahmen übersteigen und der Kunde kein Budget erstellt hat oder wenn der Kunde im Voraus davon ausgeht, die Kosten ganz oder teilweise aus eigenen Mitteln zu decken,
    • bei Wohltätigkeitsanlässen, wenn der Einnahmenüberschuss Hilfsbedürftigen zugute kommt.